My first solo exhibition

In July I had my first solo exhibition called ‘Mothercraft’ as part of my degree.

Initially my exhibition was going to be held at Truby King house but I was unable to exhibit outside of business hours. I’m very grateful to David Sole from Wellington City Council and Edward Tregidga from Conservation Volunteers for offering me the space and supporting my project up until that point.

Thanks to Abbie McKoy at Porirua City Council, I was able to exhibit in a vacant shop in Porirua for a week. Abbie’s support and enthusiasm made it a seamless and enjoyable experience. Thank you Abbie!

13700194_1053345548033820_4851260530942712926_n
Pictured is myself and Abbie McKoy on the opening night.

My opening night was a success, with lots of people coming to celebrate my work which was produced between March and July. I’d like to thank my friends Steve Courtenay (president of the Kapiti Camera Club) and Destina Munro (immediate past-president) for giving up their time to help hang my work and the additional extras they did, that includes the pack down. You may recall I featured Destina’s work in my second blog post. She graduated with the Bachelor of Applied Arts (Visual Arts & Design) in 2014. Thanks also to my friend and classmate Amy Taunt for helping with the pack down.

img_2554
Thanks for your help Steve and Destina.

Here’s a small selection of photos from the opening night. Thanks to Tash Helasdottir-Cole for taking most of the photos below. Tash was a graduate of the Bachelor of Applied Arts (Visual Arts & Design) in 2015.

13698278_1053345581367150_2156487372367368388_o
Looking through to the exhibition from the shop front.
13700146_1053345518033823_7861405673460443916_n
It was a great turn out of family, friends, tutors and fellow students. Thanks everyone.
img_5789
Thanks to my friends Jenna, Gareth and Rachel (left to right) for your support.
img_5745
Nat and Sharron read the letter which was sent by Plunket on news of Joanna’s passing. My friend Sharron is a very talented artist and another inspiration of mine.
13690690_1053345524700489_3459450544244427474_n
A woohoo moment with my tutor, Steve Rowe. Steve has been an amazing tutor this year and has helped me realise my vision. Thank you Steve!
img_5797
Mel Phillips (Head of The Photo School) and professional photographer Chris Coad. Both have been an inspiration to me and have also achieved the Bachelor of Applied Arts (Visual Arts & Design).
img_5761
I’m pleased that Destina got to enjoy some wine after her hard work.
img_5746
A close-up of my photo of Joanna’s medal.
img_2576
Flowers which were kindly donated by Black Rose Florist for the night and chocolates kindly made by Maxine.
img_5770
A close-up of the scrummy chocolates. These went down a treat.
img_5834
A close-up of one of my photos.
img_2424
A very special thanks also goes to Canon for sponsoring my printing.

Here’s some more photos of the exhibition:

I would also like to thank my parents, Kevin and Diane, for paying for the food and beverages and for your continuous love and support. I wouldn’t be where I am today without you.

I’ve got an exciting trip to Ngawi coming up soon, so I hope to share some photos with you in October. I’m also busy working on my updated concept for the final phase of the body of work. I’m also very excited to be exhibiting with other year three visual arts & design students at Pataka in November for our graduate show.

Bye for now,
Elyse.

Leave a Reply

